Détente-plage-paillote-OT-Torreilles-©-C.-Esparrac

TORREILLES

Torreilles is a totally nature-oriented resort … an old village with 4 km of wild beaches along a concrete-free seafront. It has a preserved nature site of over 170 hectares formed by the delta and wetlands of the Bourdigou. Visitors can admire the Juhègues Chapel, a sacred and radiant place of worship and culture. But what makes the heart and soul of Torreilles are its paillottes (beach bars). Nestled in the hollows of the dunes with ganivelles (slat-wood fences) there are six comfortable and relaxing beach clubs, all boasting varied ambiances and cuisines where you can sit back with your feet in the water for some memorable evenings from May to the beginning of September.

TO SEE – TO DO

The Juhègues Chapel
Composed of a chapel dedicated to the Virgin, a hermitage, an outer wall and adjoining buildings, this magnificently restored site covers several hectares. All year-long it hosts numerous events, notably the Jazz à Juhègues Festival during the month of July and the Estiu Musical classical music festival in August.
Open from May to September (included), on weekends from 3-7pm. In July and August, from Wednesday to Friday from 3-6pm and on weekends from 3-7pm, as of Wednesday 3 July. Free entrance offering explanatory tour if requested.

The sand village
As of the 1970’s this sand village began emerging, today counting over 600 small round villas buried in the sand and sheltered by lush nature. After being criticised for many years, they are today admired by urban planners who recognise a fine example of an environmentally oriented real estate project. 

The Church of Saint Julien and Saint Basilisse
Mentioned as of 1071, it’s one of the most interesting Romanesque churches of the department. Open to the public on Tuesdays and Fridays from 10am to 12pm, as of Tuesday 2 July.

The Block house
Located on the northern part of the beach, the Torreilles block house is listed as a French Historical Monument. An outpost of the German fortification line intended to slow-down the enemy during the Second World War, this is the only mostly preserved structure of this type remaining on the Mediterranean coastline. 

The Bourdigou
A wonderful natural connection between the village of Torreilles and its beach. This waterway extends over nearly 4 kilometres up to the Mediterranean, where a lake has been formed combining fresh and salty water.

Lever de soleil hivernal - BIT Torreilles - © C. Esparrac-min

KEY EVENTS

GUIDED TOURS

Discovery tour of the village from the end of June to mid-September on Wednesday mornings.
Leaves at 10am from the village Tourist Information Office Le Cube, located at Place des Souvenirs d’Enfance. Free upon registration – will only leave if a minimum of 5 people. Limited to 20 people maximum.

Guided tour of the beach by bicycle
In July and August, every Friday. Accompanied by the coastguards from the coastal protection agency.
Leaves at 10am from the beach Tourist Information Office located at Espace Capellans. Price 3€ - free for children under 12 – will only leave if a minimum of 5 people – for all ages – Torreilles Tourist Information Office: 04 68 28 41 10 – torreilles@perpignanmediterraneetourisme.com – www.torreilles.com

Tourist Office:
Le Cube, place des souvenirs d’enfance
66440 Torreilles
+33 (0)4 68 28 41 10
torreilles@perpignanmediterraneetourisme.com

Close Menu
en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais caCatalà de_DE_formalDeutsch (Sie) en_GBEnglish (UK)

Détente-plage-paillote-OT-Torreilles-©-C.-Esparrac

TORREILLES

Véritable « station nature », Torreilles c’est un authentique village et une plage totalement sauvage de 4kms, au front de mer « zéro béton ». Elle abrite un site naturel protégé de plus de 170 ha formé par le delta et les zones humides du Bourdigou. On y trouve aussi un petit bijou : la chapelle de Juhègues, vénérable et lumineux lieu de culte et de culture. Mais ce qui fait l'âme de Torreilles, ce sont ses paillottes ! Blottis au creux des dunes et des ganivelles, six clubs de plage offrent, chacun avec son caractère et ses spécificités culinaires, des lieux de détente privilégiés pour « lâcher prise » les pieds dans l'eau au cours des belles soirées de mai à début septembre !

A VOIR - A FAIRE

La Chapelle de Juhègues
Composé d’une chapelle dédiée à la vierge, d’un ermitage, d’une enceinte et de bâtiments annexes, ce site, magnifiquement restauré, s’étend sur plusieurs hectares. Il accueille tout au long de l’année de nombreuses manifestations, notamment le festival « Jazz à Juhègues » au mois de Juillet et « L’Estiu musical » dédié à la musique classique au mois d’août.
Ouvert de mai à septembre (inclus) les week-ends de 15h à 19h. En juillet et août, du mercredi au vendredi de 15h à 18h et les week-ends de 15h à 19h, à partir du mercredi 3 juillet. Entrée gratuite – visites libres ou commentées.

Le village des sables
Sorti de terre dans les années 1970, le village des sables compte plus de 600 petites villas circulaires enfouies dans les sable et dissimulées par une nature luxuriante. Longtemps décriées, elles font désormais l’admiration des urbanistes qui y voient une réalisation immobilière exemplaire en terme d’intégration environnementale. 

L’église Saint Julien et Sainte Basilisse
Mentionnée dès 1071, il s’agissait d’une des églises romanes les plus intéressantes du département : Ouverte au public les mardis et vendredis de 10h à 12h, à partir du mardi 2 juillet.

Le Blockhaus
Situé sur la partie nord de la plage, le blockhaus de Torreilles est inscrit au titre des Monuments Historiques. Avant-poste de la ligne de fortifications allemandes destiné à ralentir un débarquement ennemi durant la seconde guerre mondiale, il demeure le seul élément de ce type sur le littoral méditerranéen conservé dans sa quasi-intégralité. 

Le Bourdigou
Lien naturel entre Torreilles village et Torreilles plage, ce cours d’eau s’étend sur près de 4 kilomètres jusqu’à la Méditerranée, où un étang mélangeant les eaux douces et saumâtres s’est constitué.

Lever de soleil hivernal - BIT Torreilles - © C. Esparrac-min

SÉLECTION TEMPS FORTS

VISITES GUIDÉES

Visite découverte du village De fin juin à mi-septembre le mercredi matin
Départ à 10h du Bureau d’Information Touristique du village – Le Cube, place des souvenirs d’enfance – Gratuit / sur inscription – départ assuré à partir de 5 personnes et limité à 20 personnes

Visité guidée de la plage à vélo
Juillet-Août, tous les vendredis. Accompagnés par les gardes du conservatoire du littoral.
Départ à 10h du Bureau d’Information Touristique de la plage – espace Capellans. Tarif 3€ – gratuit pour les moins de 12 ans – départ assuré à partir de 5 personnes – Tout public    – Bureau d’Information Touristique de Torreilles : 04 68 28 41 10 – torreilles@perpignanmediterraneetourisme.com – www.torreilles.com

Office de Tourisme :
Le Cube, place des souvenirs d’enfance
66440 Torreilles
+33 (0)4 68 28 41 10
torreilles@perpignanmediterraneetourisme.com

Fermer le menu
fr_FRFrançais
caCatalà en_GBEnglish (UK) de_DE_formalDeutsch (Sie) fr_FRFrançais